It has grown!

Almost 18 months ago, a colleague where I used to work gave me a little baby aloe vera plant. Hers was producing lots of little babies so had several to give away.

I was a little nervous about having one as I do not have the best track record with plants.

20121118-214611.jpg

This is what it was when it came into my care. The little shoots on the outside slowly, one by one, turned black and squishy, then… fell off. I was so sad! I thought the poor plant had had it. It had only been with me for a couple of weeks!

I had a chat with my dear friend and she asked me about watering. Yes, of course I watered it. No, no more than once a week. I mentioned it to my husband too… and it transpired that he was watering it too! So we put an end to that. From then on, only I would water it, no matter how dry it looked.

Now, after all this time, I don’t think it’s as big as it should be but I suspect that has more to do with the pot. It needs a bigger space for its roots to grow. I think it may even have a baby of its own now!

image

image

Leave a Reply

